Three Civil Engineering Faculty Awarded Prestigious ASCE Huber Prize

The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) recently announced that three civil engineering faculty from Georgia Tech were chosen to receive the 2013 Walter L. Huber Prize.

Laurie GarrowJaehong Kim, and Kimberly Kurtis of Georgia Tech's School of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) were chosen by the national organization to receive the prize, which is given annually to promising young faculty who demonstrate notable achievements in research related to civil engineering. A fourth recipient, University of California - Davis faculty Jason T. DeJong, earned his doctorate at Georgia Tech. 

The three CEE faculty will officially receive this honor at the ASCE’s annual conference in Charlotte, NC this coming October. It is rare to have three Huber winners come from one school’s program. In the past, Georgia Tech administrators have been pleased to see two winners in one calendar year.

“These awards speak volumes about the depth as well as the breadth of our faculty,” said College of Engineering Dean Gary May. “In these three Huber Prize awardees, we see a commitment to excellence and innovation that will continue Georgia Tech’s strong tradition of the same into the future.”

The ASCE typically awards three to five Huber Prizes each year, one for each of the recognized sub-disciplines of the field. Recipients are all generally younger than 45 and have demonstrated a level of achievement and excellence that bodes well for a long and fruitful career.

In naming transportation engineering Associate Professor Garrow to this honor, the ASCE commended her for “development and integration of advanced discrete choice models of traveler behavior into airline planning, scheduling, and revenue management decision support systems.”

The ASCE noted the work of Associate Chair and Georgia Power Distinguished Professor Kim  in environmental nanotechnology and lauded him for “his pioneering research on environmental implication and application of nanomaterials as well as developing upconversion biocidal materials for innovative, sustainable environmental technology.”

College of Engineering ADVANCE Professor Kurtis was commended by ASCE for “exceptional contributions in applying the principles of materials science to the solving practice problems in civil engineering, including hydration, deterioration, creep and nono-destructive characterization of cement-based materials."

Reginald DesRoches, Karen and John Huff School Chair, echoed Dean May’s praise for the three awardees.

“Having three faculty from CEE win this prestigious award in one year is truly outstanding and unprecedented for Georgia Tech,” said DesRoches. “It speaks to the quality of our young and mid-career faculty, and to a bright future for our program.”