President Appoints Mental Health Task Force

To assess and enhance a critical area of services to students, Georgia Tech President G. P. “Bud” Peterson has convened a task force to begin meeting next month that will review the current state of mental health services on campus.

The Mental Health Task Force, which will be chaired by Associate Vice President Lynn Durham, comes partly in response to recent concerns expressed by student leaders.

“Both the undergraduate and graduate Student Government Associations advocated for the formation of a task force,” Peterson said. “This group will review our current efforts to increase awareness and prevention of mental health issues, as well as potential causes and responses when mental illness or extreme emotional stress are suspected. We want to ensure that Tech is a place where students can continue to thrive and solve the challenges of the 21st century.”

In a white paper submitted to the president last month, students identified academics, student life and finances as a few areas of concern for mental health on campus. 

The group will meet several times during the summer and includes representatives from the faculty, administration and student body:

  • James Black — former president, Graduate Student Government Association
  • Susan Cozzens — Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Faculty Affairs
  • Shannon Croft — Psychiatrist, Student Health Services
  • Dan Morrison — Director, Housing, Residence Life
  • Jennifer Mullins — Assistant Director, Scholarships and Financial Aid
  • Ruperto Perez — Director, Counseling Center
  • Nick Picon — President, Undergraduate Student Government Association
  • Colin Potts — Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
  • Sangita Sharma — President, ANAK Society
  • John Stein — Dean of Students
  • Arren Washington — President, Graduate Student Government Association