Professor Braun Recognized for Contributions to Space

Professor Bobby Braun, the David and Andrew Lewis Professor of Space Technology in the Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering, received the 2012 Al Seiff Award at the 9th International Planetary Probe Workshop (IPPW) this week in Toulouse, France.

The award is bestowed annually at the IPPW in recognition of outstanding contributions to the technology, science, and mission planning of atmospheric entry probe missions that advance the knowledge of planets or moons in the solar system, and the mentoring of young engineers and scientists in these fields.

The award citation reads "in recognition of extraordinary and ongoing contributions to the field of planetary entry, descent and landing, including teaching a new generation of EDL system engineers, serving as the first NASA Chief Technologist in over a decade, and leadership and engineering knowledge that have contributed greatly to all NASA Mars surface missions from Pathfinder to MSL."

Dr. Braun joined the Georgia Institute of Technology as the David and Andrew Lewis Associate Professor of Space Technology in 2003. He was promoted to the rank of Professor in 2009. He leads an active research and educational program focused on the design of advanced flight systems and technologies for planetary exploration.

In 2010-2011, he served as the first NASA Chief Technologist in more than a decade. In this capacity, he served as the senior Agency executive for technology and innovation policy and programs. He created and led the initial implementation of a spectrum of broadly applicable technology programs designed to build the capabilities required for our nation’s future space missions.