Provost Names Engineering Dean Search Committee

Following the announcement in August that College of Engineering Dean Don Giddens would retire at the end of this academic year, Provost Rafael Bras has named a search committee to begin the process of identifying the College’s next leader.

With more than 60 percent of the students and about half of the tenured and tenure-track faculty at the Georgia Tech, the College of Engineering is the largest program of its kind in the country. The committee is expected to meet for the first time later this month, where they will discuss the search process and receive a formal charge from the provost.

“The committee will be charged with articulating the qualities of leadership needed to implement the Institute’s new strategic plan; with screening and interviewing candidates; and with recommending finalists for the position,” Bras said. An executive search firm will be retained to help facilitate candidate identification and vetting.

Members of the search committee include:

  • Mostafa El-Sayed (Chair)
    Regents Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry 
  • Dean Alford
    Chair, College of Engineering Advisory Board 
  • Mostafa Ammar
    Regents Professor, Computer Science 
  • Karolyn Babalola
    Graduate Student, Electrical and Computer Engineering 
  • Gisele Bennett
    Director, Electro-Optical Systems Laboratory—GTRI and Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Corey Boone
    Undergraduate SGA president 
  • Barrett Carson
    Vice President, Development 
  • William Cheesborough
    Director of Financial Services and Administration, Mechanical Engineering 
  •  Sam Graham
    Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering 
  • Deborah Harris
    Alumna and Georgia Tech Foundation member 
  • David Ku
    Regents' Professor, Mechanical Engineering 
  • Michelle LaPlaca
    Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering 
  • Steve McLaughlin
    Vice Provost for International Initiatives 
  • Shuming Nie
    Professor, Biomedical Engineering 
  •  Elsa Reichmanis
    Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 
  • Stephen Ruffin
    Associate Professor, Aerospace Engineering 
  • Ken Sandhage
    Professor, Materials Science and Engineering 
  • Carlos Santamarina
    Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering 
  • Jeff Shamma
    Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering 
  • Sandra Slaughter
    Professor, College of Management 
  • Julie Swann
    Associate Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering 
  • Jeff Wu
    Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering  
  • Jennifer Herazy (ex-officio)
    Assistant Provost 
  •  Marita Sullivan (ex-officio)
    Interim Associate Vice President, Human Resources