Tech Names New Director of Government Relations

Dene Sheheane will fill pivotal position.

The Georgia Institute of Technology has appointed Dene H. Sheheane, 38, as the Institute's director of Government Relations

"We're extremely fortunate to have Dene Sheheane represent Georgia Tech in our Government Relations office," said Georgia Tech President Wayne Clough. "Dene has experience supporting educational issues at the chancellor's office, Board of Regents and state capitol, and has developed strong relationships with our state and federal elected officials."

Sheheane has extensive state and local government experience. Most recently he was associate vice president for external affairs at Georgia State University. Prior to that, he worked in the governor's office during the early 1990s prior to moving to Georgia State in 1994.

"As a graduate of Georgia Tech, I am eager to return to campus and serve the Institute that played such a major role in shaping my life," said Sheheane. "Representing Georgia Tech in the State Capitol will be both an honor and a privilege. I look forward to meeting the talented faculty and staff at Georgia Tech as we work together to communicate the value of a strong investment in the Institute."

Sheheane continued, "Georgia Tech has earned many friends in state government, and I am committed to strengthening those relationships to ensure the Institute's strategic goals and priorities receive outstanding support and recognition."

Sheheane is a native Georgian and a graduate of Norcross High School. He graduated from Georgia Tech in 1991 with a degree in management. He received a Master of Business Administration from Georgia State University.

His professional affiliations include serving as chairman of the National State Relations Task Force, an organization comprised of higher education government relations professionals from across the country.

A resident of the historic downtown district of Acworth, Georgia, Sheheane serves on the Acworth Downtown Development Authority.

Sheheane replaces Andrew Harris, who retired earlier this year.