Ga. Tech Faculty Receive Fulbright Scholar Award

Three Georgia Tech faculty members have been awarded a Fulbright Scholar Grant to lecture and research at overseas universities during the 2005-2006 academic year, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Stuart Goldberg, assistant professor in the School of Modern Languages, will research "Mandelstam, Blok and the Boundaries of Mythopoetic Symbolism" at the Russian State Humanities University in Moscow, Russia.

David Goldsman, professor in the School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, will teach computer simulation at Bogazici University in Bebek-Istanbul, Turkey.

Fei-Ling Wang, associate professor in the Sam Nunn School of International Affairs, will teach "U.S. Foreign Policy and a Possible East Asian Community: American Studies and U.S.-East Asian Relations" at Yonsei University in Seoul, Korea.

Goldberg, Goldsman and Wang are three of approximately 850 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad to some 150 countries for the 2005-2006 academic year through the Fulbright Scholar Program. Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the program's purpose is to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries.

The Fulbright Program, America's flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 59 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have studied, taught or done research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. They are among more than 265,000 American and foreign university students, K-12 teachers, and university faculty and professionals who have participated in one of the several Fulbright exchange programs.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields. Among thousands of prominent U.S. Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Laureate in Economics; James Watson, co-discoverer of the structure of DNA and Nobel Laureate in Medicine; Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, CEO of Intel Corporation.