Management Honors Alumni Leaders at Celebration

Business School Names New Members of Hall of Fame, Academy of Distinguished Alumni and Council of Outstanding Young Alumni

Georgia Tech College of Management recognized the vision, achievement and leadership of its alumni April 22 at the Second Annual Celebration and Awards Dinner, inducting eleven leaders into the Hall of Fame, Academy of Distinguished Alumni and Council of Outstanding Young Alumni.

"We're here to salute you who give your time, your talent and your treasure," said College of Management Dean Terry C. Blum. "We appreciate the time you take to guide us…. It's a lasting legacy to the students who follow you."

New members of the Hall of Fame, which recognizes leaders for their lifetime career achievement and commitment to Georgia Tech, include:

·Robert A. Anclien, IM 1969, MS IM 1970. After retiring from 32 years with global management and technology firm Accenture, Anclien recently began a second career in real estate development as general partner and owner of Liberty Land Group and of Windmill Point Resort and Yacht Harbor.

· Don L. Chapman, IM 1961. CEO of ChapCo Investments, Chapman has founded or led eighteen different companies over the course of his career, including the optical-superstore chain Opti-World and the airline-equipment maker Tug Manufacturing Corp.

· A.J. Land Jr., IM 1960, who is founder of Pope and Land Enterprises, one of Atlanta's leading private office development companies with more than $700 million in assets.

· Joseph W. Rogers Jr., IM 1968. Since becoming president of Waffle House in 1973, Rogers has helped grow the restaurant chain from seventy-five restaurants to more than 1,470 locations in 25 states.

· J. Leland Strange, IM 1965, who is president, CEO and chairman of Intelligent Systems, which has either founded, bought or invested in more than 50 technology companies since 1982.

New members of the Academy of Distinguished Alumni, which recognizes leaders for their contributions to business, Georgia Tech and society at large, include:

· Jerome A. Atkinson, IM 1971, who is executive vice president, general counsel and chief compliance officer for Assurant Solutions, the largest subsidiary of Assurant, a diversified financial and insurance services company.

· Hubert L. Harris Jr., IM 1965, who has served as CEO of INVESCO North America since 2003.

· N. Richard Kalikow, IM 1964, a thirty-five-year veteran of the real-estate business who is a managing member of Manchester Real Estate and Construction, which he formed in 2002.

· Gregory J. Owens, IM 1982, who is chairman of Manugistics, a supply-chain and revenue management company with more than 1,200 clients, including nine of the top fifteen Fortune 500 companies.

· William J. Todd, IM 1971, a healthcare and technology administrator who has served as president of the Georgia Cancer Coalition since 2003.

John T. Salley, MGT 1988, is the newest member of the Council of Outstanding Young Alumni, which recognizes alumni for their career achievement and contributions to Georgia Tech and society. A twelve-year National Basketball Association veteran, Salley is co-host of the Emmy-nominated program The Best Damn Sports Show Period on Fox Sports Net and head of his own production company, Black Folk Entertainment.