Tech Professor Honored By the White House

A Georgia Tech biology professor was honored by the White House today as one of the nation's top young scientists. Julia Kubanek, assistant professor in the School of Biology, was one of 57 scientists and engineers recognized with the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the nation's highest honor for professionals at the outset of their research careers. Kubanek was nominated for the award by the National Science Foundation. Awardees were honored in a ceremony presided over by John H. Marburger III, director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and science advisor to the President.

The PECASE was established in 1996. Eight federal departments and agencies annually nominate scientists and engineers whose work shows the greatest promise to benefit the nominating agency's mission. Participating agencies award these beginning scientists and engineers up to five years of funding to further their research in support of critical government missions.

Kubanek's main area of research involves studying harmful algal blooms, otherwise known as red tides. These blooms kill marine life and cause human illness as well as economic damage.

Georgia Tech wasn't the only university in the city to have one of its professors honored today. Eric R. Weeks, assistant professor in the Department of Physics at Emory University was also honored with a PECASE.

The recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists
and Engineers, along with their nominating federal department or agency are:

Department of Agriculture
* Tara H. McHugh, Western Regional Research Center
* Mahfuzur Sarker, Oregon State University
* Therese M. Poland, Forest Service North Central Research Station

Department of Commerce
* Andrew W. Bruckner, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
* Gabriel A. Vecchi, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
* Jun Ye, National Institute of Standards and Technology
* Sae Woo Nam, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Department of Defense
* David Goldhaber-Gordon, Stanford University
* Hari C. Manoharan, Stanford University
* Michelle L. Pantoya, Texas Tech University
* Bridget Rogers, Vanderbilt University
* Venkatesh R. Saligrama, Boston University
* Gregory Neil Tew, University of Massachusetts

Department of Energy
* Jeffrey C. Blackmon, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
* Edmond Chow, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
* Sergei Maslov, Brookhaven National Laboratory
* Jonathan E. Menard, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
* Christine Orme, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
* Krishnakumar Garikipati, University of Michigan
* Carl Boehlert, Alfred University

Department of Health and Human Services: National Institutes of Health
* Dana Boatman, Johns Hopkins University
* Susan K. Buchanan, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and
Kidney Diseases
* William Carlezon, Harvard Medical School
* David Cummings, School of Medicine, University of California, San
* Kirk Deitsch, Weill Medical College, Cornell University
* Abby Dernburg, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
* Marilyn Diaz, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
* Catherine Drennan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
* Andrew Griffin, National Institute on Deafness and other Communication
* Valery I. Shestapalov, University of Miami School of Medicine
* Richard Walker, Oregon Health and Science University

Department of Veterans Affairs
* Gary E. Bryson, West Haven Veterans Affairs Medical Center
* Richard Z. Lin, State University of New York at Stony Brook

National Aeronautics and Space Administration
* J. Marshall Shepherd, Goddard Space Flight Center
* Mark Simons, California Institute of Technology
* Eric R. Weeks, Emory University
* Thomas H. Zurbuchen, University of Michigan

National Science Foundation
* Jennifer G. Becker, University of Maryland
* Squire J. Booker, Pennsylvania State University
* Susmita Bose, Washington State University
* Ian Dell'Antonio, Brown University
* J. Christian Gerdes, Stanford University
* Robert W. Ghrist, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
* Amy Greenwald, Brown University
* Babak Hassibi, California Institute of Technology
* Jason M. Haugh, North Carolina State University
* Jionghua (Judy) Jin, University of Arizona
* Julia Kubanek, Georgia Institute of Technology
* Mark E. Lewis, University of Michigan
* Jia G. Lu, University of California at Irvine
* Thomas McDade, Northwestern University
* George J. Pappas, University of Pennsylvania
* N. Sanjay Rebello, Kansas State University
* Dan M. Stamper-Kurn, University of California at Berkeley
* Ion Stoica, University of California at Berkeley
* Brian M. Stoltz, California Institute of Technology
* John R. Wakeley, Harvard University